Chapter 62- Games that people play

Being in a committed relationship was…different.

It’s less stressful, since you are both on the same level. You no longer sit on the edge of your seat, wondering if he likes you as much as you like him. Well, maybe still a little bit…

I thought I was a thrill chaser, but turns out I much prefer the comfort of intimacy and familiarity. Those who like the chase may find it boring. No mind games to be played.

Well, that’s not entirely true, there were still games…

Like that time we were both sick for the weekend, so Johan tried to teach me poker.

“Aha! I win! A royal straight!”

“Um…you need 5 cards in a row for a straight.”

“But I’m so close!!!”

“Sorry…rules are rules.”

“This game is BULLSHIT!!!”

“Ok, let’s do something else.”

“Get back here! Double or nothing!!!” I was determined to win back my Jelly Bellies.

twitter-madrid-cartas-poker-fundo-691609

Or the time I had to leave his apartment to pick something up.

“You coming back for dinner?” Johan asked.

“Yeah, I’ll be back in a few hours.”

“K.” He said non-chalantly.

When I got back, there was an envelope on the door with a rose taped to it.

canstock26303786

“What’s this?” I looked around instinctively, thinking maybe someone left it for Johan’s sister.

I ripped it off the door, and saw my name behind the rose. Inside the envelope was a card that said “Will you go on a date with me?” followed by “yes”, “no” and “maybe”.

I was confused but intrigued. I opened the door and there was a trail on the floor, made of masking tape, which led to…his computer.

Not sure, what to do next, I sat down and looked for further instruction in the card again.

Nothing.

So I looked into the envelope. Alas there was another piece of paper, a “Declaration of Romantic Intent”.

mmexport1438627197041

I recognized it from years ago. I thought it was cute and shared it on my WeChat “Moments”. He must have combed through my past posts to find it.

I chuckled as I read; it was hilarious and adorable at the same time. I wish I had to original to share, but I forgot where it is. Maybe all the best, as it was not entirely appropriate.

Then at the end of the declaration, there was a web address. I could tell that he created the site because it contained his name before the .com.

Ohhh, that’s why the computer…So I obediently turned on his laptop and carefully entered the URL.

A website popped up and it said: “I hope you will agree to go out with me. For a hint about the date, please complete the Quiz below.”

I laughed out loud with delight, thoroughly enjoying this game.

Scanning through the quiz, I realized it was actually quite hard.

“When was our first date?”

It depends which counts as a date, I thought to myself.

“What was the song we sang together at karaoke?”

Umm…Jason Mraz?

“What do I like most about you? Smile? Eyes? Boobs?”

I’m gonna go with Smile!

When I finished, I was hesitant to submit, so I doubled checked my answers like I always did in school. After changing a few, I finally hit “Enter.”

Another page popped up and it said “Ding Ding Ding! You Pass!”

Below it was a video. I clicked and a slightly unclear youtube video started playing. It looked like a concert of some kind.

DSC_8708

A pair of arms wrapped around my waist from behind, and I could feel Johan’s warmth. “Recognize the song?” He said as he kissed my cheeks.

“Yeah…it’s Flapper Girl by The Lumineers…” I said slowly, then suddenly gasped, “Are you taking me to their concert???”

“You’re one smart cookie!” He kissed me again.

“Oh my God!” I kissed him back, then realized, “Wait…is this why you kept sending me their songs during Chinese New Year???”

“Yep! I’ve been priming you.” He smiled mischievously.

“You planned it that long ago?” I couldn’t believe he didn’t mention anything until now.

“I saw that they were coming to Shanghai but I wasn’t sure if you knew them, so I had to plant the seed somehow. Good thing you didn’t hate them!”

“Hate them? I love them!!!” I gushed genuinely, “I can’t wait!!!”

“Oh and it’s at Mao Livehouse. The venue is amazing, incredibly intimate, nothing like those big stadium concerts.”

“Ohhhh, can we stand close that we touch their feet?”

“Does that mean you will go out with me?” He continued to smile with his arms wrapped around me.

“Hmm…let me think about it.” I pretended to consider.

“I’ll buy you dinner.” He upped his offer.

“And dessert?”

“Of course.”

“Sold!” I laughed and he kissed me.

“You know, you are pretty sneaky…I had no clue this entire time.” I said in between kisses.

“What can I say? I’m good at mind games….” He grinned widely, “So I’ve decided to use them to woo you instead.”

Consider me Wooed.

Leave a Reply

